Sunday, 26 April 2020




Lord Krishna

VAISHAMPAYANA said: - Of the fourteen beautiful wives of Vasudeva, Rohini, of Puru's race, was the first Madirā, the second, Vaishākhi the third, Bhadrā the fourth, Sunāmā the fifth, Sahadeva the sixth, Devaki the seventh, Shāntideva the eighth, Shridevā the ninth, Devarakshitā the tenth, Vrikadevi the eleventh, Upadevi the twelth, Sutanu the thirteenth, and Badarvā the fourteenth. The last two were his female attendants (1-3).

Rohini, of Puru's race was the daughter of Vālhika. O king, she was the first and most beloved wife of Anākadundhuvi (4). Vasudeva begat on Rohini his eldest son Rāma, Shārana, Shatha, Durdhama, Damana, Swabhra, Pindāraka, Ushinara, and a daughter by name Chitrā. O descendant of Kuru, it was Chitrā who passed by the name of Subhadrā (5-6). Vasudeva begat on Devaki the highly illustrious Shouri.[1] Rāma begat on Revati his beloved son Nishatha. Arjuna begat on Subhadrā the mighty car-warrior Abhimanyu. Akrura begat Satyaketu on the daughter of the king of Kāshi (7-8), Hear, now, of the heroic sons whom Vasudeva begat on his seven noble wives (9). Bhoja and Viyaya were the sons of Shantidevā. Vrikadeva and Gada were the sons of Sunāmā (10). Devarakshitā obtained Upāsangavara as his son. Vrikadevi, the daughter of the Trigarta king, gave birth to the high-souled Agāvaha. His priest Shaishirāyana once grew desirous of testing the manhood (of his brother-in-law Gārgya, the priest of the Yadavas) (11-12). On account of a false charge being laid home to him[2] Gārgya was filled with anger and remained like black iron for twelve years (13). He then began to live with a cow-herd's daughter. A nymph, by name Gopāli, came to him in this guise (14). By the command of Shulapāni[3] Gārgya, made his human wife concieve, the embryo whereof was irrepressible and never to die (15). She gave birth to a highly powerful king by name Kālayavana. Horses, having their heads like those of bulls, used to carry him in battle (16). O king that child grew up in the city of the king of Yavanas[4] who had no issue. And accordingly he was named Kalayavana (17). Growing desirous of entering into a battle that king questioned the twice born ones. Thereat the omniscient Nārada asked him to fight with the members of Vrishni and Andhaka families (18). Thereupon starting for Mathurā with one Akshouhini[5] soldiers Kālayavana sent his messenger to the house of Vrishnis and Andhakas (19). Thereupon being united the Vrishnis and Andhakas, making the highly intelligent Krishna their president, held a conference in fear of Kālayavana (20). Then honoring Pinaki[6] they resolved upon flying away from the charming city of Mathurā and thought of settling down in Kushasthali Dwarka.[7] He, who being pure and self-controlled, listens to the story of Krishna's birth, becomes learned, happy and freed from debts (21-22).

[1] A name of Krishna.

[2] The sentences are very elliptical. The purport is, Saishirayana put his brother-in-law Gargya to test and found him self-controlled. He however put a wrong construction on this fact and thought that he had no manhood in him. This enraged Gargya very much whose anger was pacified after twelve years.

[3] A name of Siva. The word literally means one who has a mace in his hand.

[4] A class of non-Aryans. The nymph Gopali, after giving birth to that son, left the king.

[5] A complete army consisting of 1,09,350 foot, 65,610 horses, 21,870 chariots, and 21,870 elephants.

[6] A name of Siva, Literally it means the holder of Pinaka, a trident or three-pronged spear.

[7] Dwaraka situated in the county of Kanyakubja or Kanouj


Previous | Source | Tamil Translation | Next


அக்ரூரன் அக்னி அசமஞ்சன் அதிரதன் அனு அஜமீடன் ஆபவர் ஆயு ஆஹுகன் இந்திரன் இளை உக்ரஸேனன் உக்ராயுதன் உசீநரன் உதங்கர் உபரிசரவசு ஊர்வசி ஊர்வர் ஔர்வர் கக்ஷேயு கங்கை கசியபர் கண்டரீகர் கண்டூகன் கபிலர் கருடன் கர்க்கர் கர்ணன் காதி கார்த்தவீர்யார்ஜுனன் காலநேமி காலயவனன் காலவர் கிருஷ்ணன் குசிகன் குரோஷ்டு குவலாஷ்வன் சததன்வன் சத்யகர்மன் சந்தனு சந்திரன் சனத்குமாரர் சன்னதி சிவன் சூரன் சூரியன் சைசிராயணர் தக்ஷன் தசரதன் தன்வந்தரி தாரை திதிக்ஷு திரிசங்கு திரையாருணன் திலீபன் திவோதாஸன் துந்து துந்துமாரன் துருவன் துஷ்யந்தன் தேவகன் தேவாவ்ருதன் நஹுஷன் நாரதர் நாராயணன் நிகும்பன் நீபன் பஞ்சஜனன் பப்ரு பயோதன் பரசுராமர் பரதன் பரத்வாஜர் பலராமன் பார்வதி பிரதீபன் பிரம்மதத்தன் பிரம்மன் பிரஸேனன் பிராசேதஸ் பிருது பிருதை பிருஹதாஷ்வன் பிருஹஸ்பதி பீஷ்மர் புதன் புரூரவன் பூமாதேவி பூரு பூஜனி மது மயன் மாயாதேவி மார்க்கண்டேயர் யது யயாதி யுதிஷ்டிரன் ரஜி ராமன் ரேவதி ரைவதன் வசிஷ்டர் வருணன் வஸுதேவன் வாயு விதர்ப்பன் விப்ராஜன் விரஜை விருஷ்ணி விஷ்ணு விஷ்வாசி விஷ்வாமித்ரர் விஷ்வாவஸு விஸ்வகர்மன் வேனன் வைவஸ்வத மனு ஜராசந்தன் ஜஹ்னு ஜாம்பவான் ஜியாமோகன் ஸகரன் ஸத்யபாமா ஸத்யவிரதன் ஸத்ராஜித் ஸத்வான் ஸஹஸ்ரதன் ஹரி ஹரிஷ்சந்திரன் ஹிரண்யகசிபு