Saturday 3 July 2021




Hiranyakashipu Threatens Prahlada

Vaishampāyana said:—O king, I have thus described to you the boar incarnation of Vishnu. I will next describe the man-lion incarnation in which form the Lord killed Hiranyakashipu. Formerly in the Krita Yuga the founder of the Daitya race, the king Hiranyakashipu practised great penances. Living under water he observed the vow of silence like an immoveable object for five thousand and five hundred years. Pleased with his self-control, mastery over his senses and regulations Brahma was highly pleased. Afterward in his white sunny car drawn by swans the Lord Brahmā himself came there and said to the king of Daityas "O you of firm vows, you are my votary. I am pleased with you for your ascetic penances. May you fare well. Pray for a desirable boon" (1-10).

Thereupon the Dānava-chief Hiranyakashipu, with a delighted heart and folded hands, said:—"O lord, may none, amongst the gods, Asuras, Gandharvas, Yakshas, Uragas, Rakshasas, men and Pisāchas, slay me. May not the Rishis, when angered, curse me. May not my destruction be brought about with a weapon, mountain, tree, dry or wet articles. May not my death take place in heaven, nether region, sky or either in day or in night. May he be my death only who, with the stroke of his own palm, will be able to kill me with my followers, servants and kinsmen. I will discharge the functions of the sun, moon, air, fire, water, sky, stars and ten quarters. I will be Kāma, Krodha, Varuna, Vasava, Yama, Kuvera and the king of Kimpurushas. May huge weapons appear bodily before me in a battle" (11-18).

Brahma said:—"O my son, I grant you these wonderful and celestial boons. These boons are rare and not to be obtained by men. Forsooth, by my favour, you will obtain all desirable objects."

Vaishampāyana said:—Having said this Brahmā went to the Vairāja region through the etherial way. Afterwards hearing of the grant of this boon the gods, Nāgas and Gandharvas went to the Grand-father and said:—"O lord, by virtue of this boon the Asura will oppress us. Do thou concert a measure for his destruction." Hearing their words the Lord Brahmā said:—"O ye gods, he must obtain the fruits of his penances. After he will have enjoyed them the Lord Vishnu will slay him." Delighted with what the lotus-sprung Deity had said the celestials repaired to their respective quarters (19-26).

Vaishampāyana said:—Elated with the power of the boon he had obtained the Daitya-chief Hiranyakashipu began to oppress the creatures. That powerful Daitya assailed the ascetic Munis in the hermitages and the trutuful and self-controlled Brāhmanas. Having vanquished all the gods in the three worlds he brought them under subjection and lived in heaven. Urged on by Destiny and elated with the pride of boon he made the Daityas entitled to sacrifices and deprived the gods therefrom. Thereupon the Adityas, Sādhyas, Vishwās, Vasus, Rudras, all the saints and the Brāhmanas approached the highly powerful and eternal Vishnu adored of the world and sought his shelter. The gods said:—"O Nārāyana, the gods have sought refuge with thee: do thou save them and slay the Daitya-chief Hiranyakashipu. Thou art our protector, great preceptor and the great god. Thou dost please the party of thy friends and destroy the enemies. Do thou help us for slaying Diti's progeny." Vishnu said: "Cast off your fear, O ye immortals, I promise you safety. You will, in no time, attain to the celestial region as before. I will soon kill that Dānava king with his people who is elated with the pride of his boon and is unslayable even by the immortals".

Vaishampāyana said:—Having said this and dismissed the celestials the omniscient Lord thought of the destruction of Hiranyakashipu. Having assumed a body, half-lion and half-man, he arrived at Harinyakashipu’s court. It was highly charming and a hundred yojanas in length and half as much in breadth. There existed neither decrepitude nor sorrow. It was adorned with various flowers and excellent seats (27–48).


Previous | Source | Tamil Translation | Next


அக்ரூரன் அக்னி அங்கிரஸ் அசமஞ்சன் அதிதி அதிரதன் அநிருத்தன் அந்தகன் அரிஷ்டன் அருந்ததி அர்ஜுனன் அனு அஜபார்ஷன் அஜமீடன் அஸ்தி ஆபவர் ஆயு ஆரியா தேவி ஆஹுகன் இந்திரன் இளை உக்ரசேனன் உக்ராயுதன் உசீநரன் உதங்கர் உத்தவர் உபரிசரவசு உமை உல்பணன் உஷை ஊர்வசி ஊர்வர் ஏகலவ்யன் ஔர்வர் கக்ஷேயு கங்கை கசியபர் கண்டரீகர் கண்டாகர்ணன் கண்டூகன் கதன் கபிலர் கமலாதேவி கம்ஸன் கருடன் கர்க்கர் கர்ணன் காதி காந்திதேவி கார்த்தவீர்யார்ஜுனன் காலநேமி காலயவனன் காலவர் காளியன் கிருஷ்ணன் குசிகன் குணகன் குணவதி கும்பாண்டன் குரோஷ்டு குவலயாபீடம் குவலாஷ்வன் கூனி கைசிகன் கைடபன் கோடவி சகடாசுரன் சக்ரதேவன் சங்கன் சததன்வன் சத்யகர்ணன் சத்யகர்மன் சத்யபாமா சத்ருக்னன் சத்வதன் சந்தனு சந்திரவதி சந்திரன் சம்பரன் சரஸ்வதி சனத்குமாரர் சன்னதி சாணூரன் சாத்யகி சாந்தீபனி சாம்பன் சால்வன் சிசுபாலன் சித்திரலேகை சித்திராங்கதன் சிருகாலன் சிவன் சுக்ரன் சுசீமுகி சுநாபன் சுனீதன் சூரன் சூரியன் சைசிராயணர் சௌதி டிம்பகன் தக்ஷன் தசரதன் தந்தவக்ரன் தமகோஷன் தரதன் தன்வந்தரி தாரை திதி திதிக்ஷு திரிசங்கு திரிவிக்ரை திருமிலன் திரையாருணன் திலீபன் திவோதாஸன் துந்து துந்துமாரன் துருவன் துர்வாசர் துஷ்யந்தன் தூம்ரவர்ணன் தேவகன் தேவகி தேவாவ்ருதன் தேனுகன் நந்தன் நந்தி நரகாசுரன் நரசிம்மன் நஹுஷன் நாரதர் நாராயணன் நாராயணி நிகும்பன் நிசுந்தன் நித்ராதேவி நீபன் பஞ்சஜனன் பத்மாவதி பத்ரன் பப்ரு பயோதன் பரசுராமர் பரதன் பரத்வாஜர் பலராமன் பலி பாணன் பார்வதி பானு பானுமதி பிரதீபன் பிரத்யும்னன் பிரபாவதி பிரமர்த்தனன் பிரம்மதத்தன் பிரம்மன் பிரலம்பன் பிரவரன் பிரஸேனன் பிரஹலாதன் பிராசேதஸ் பிராப்தி பிருது பிருதை பிருஹதாஷ்வன் பிருஹஸ்பதி பீஷ்மகன் பீஷ்மர் புதன் புரூரவன் பூதனை பூமாதேவி பூரு பூஜனி பௌண்டரகன் மதிராதேவி மது மதுமதி மயன் மனு மஹாமாத்ரன் மாயாதேவி மாயாவதி மார்க்கண்டேயர் மித்ரஸஹர் முசுகுந்தன் முரு முருகன் முஷ்டிகன் யசோதை யது யயாதி யுதிஷ்டிரன் ரஜி ராமன் ருக்மவதி ருக்மி ருக்மிணி ரேவதி ரைவதன் ரோஹிணி லவணன் வசிஷ்டர் வராகம் வருணன் வஜ்ரநாபன் வஸு வஸுதேவன் வாமனன் வாயு விகத்ரு விசக்ரன் விதர்ப்பன் விப்ராஜன் விப்ருது வியாசர் விரஜை விருஷ்ணி விஷ்ணு விஷ்வாசி விஷ்வாமித்ரர் விஷ்வாவஸு விஸ்வகர்மன் வேனன் வைசம்பாயனர் வைவஸ்வத மனு ஜயந்தன் ஜராசந்தன் ஜனமேஜயன் ஜனார்த்தனன் ஜஹ்னு ஜாம்பவான் ஜியாமோகன் ஜ்வரம் ஸகரன் ஸத்யபாமா ஸத்யவிரதன் ஸத்ராஜித் ஸத்வான் ஸஹஸ்ரதன் ஸ்ரீதாமன் ஸ்ரீதேவ ஸ்வேதகர்ணன் ஹம்சன் ஹயக்ரீவன் ஹரி ஹரியஷ்வன் ஹரிஷ்சந்திரன் ஹிரண்யகசிபு ஹிரண்யாக்ஷன்