Thursday 26 March 2020




VAISHAMPAYANA said :- O foremost of Bharatas, Vivaswata Manu had nine sons after him—Ikshwāku, Nābhaga, Dhrishnu, Sharyāti, Narishyan, Prangsha, Nābhagarishtha, Korusha and Prishadhra (1–2). O king, desirous of progeny the patriarch Manu performed a sacrifice before Mitra and Varuna (3). O descendant of Bharata, before the birth of these nine sons of his, Muni offered oblation to the portions of Mitra and Varuna in the present sacrifice. When this oblation was offered, the gods, Gandharvas, men and ascetics attained to great delight and exclaimed. "Oh! wonderful is his ascetic energy! Oh! Wonderful is his knowledge of scriptures (4–6)." The tradition is, that in that sacrifice was born Ilā, clad in a celestial raiment, adorned with celestial ornaments and equipped with a celestial armour (7). Manu, with a rod of chastisement in his hand, said to her: "Follow me, O fair one." She gave the following moral reply to that Patriarch desirous of offspring (8).

Ilā said:—"O best of speakers, I am born of the energy of Mitra and Varuna and so I shall go to them. Do not destroy my morality (9)."

Having said this to Manu Ilā approached Mitra and Varuna and that fair one with folded hands said to them, "I am born of your energy; Manu has asked me to follow him. Tell me what I shall do (10-11)". Hear from me what Mitra and Varuna did say to the pious and chaste Ilā who had addressed them thus (12). "O you fair one of beautiful hips, we have been pleased with your virtue, humility, self restraint and truthfulness (13). Therefore O great lady, you will be celebrated as our daughter, O fair one, you will be the son of Manu, perpetuating his race, celebrated in the three worlds by the name of Sudyumna. You will be pious, beloved of the world and multiply the race of Manu (14–15)." While she, on hearing this, was about to return to her father (Manu), she was invited, on the way, by Buddha, for conjugal purposes (16). Then Soma's son Buddha begat on her Pururava. Having given birth to that son Ilā became Pradyumna (17). O descendant of Bharata, the three kinsmen of Sudyumna-Uutkala, Gaya and the energetic Vinatashwa were greatly pious (18), O king, the northern quarter was under Utkala, the western under Vinatashwa and the city Gayā was under Gaya (19). O subduer of foes, Manu having entered the sun, his sons divided the earth into ten parts (20). The eldest of them Ikshwaku obtained the central portion by whose sacrificial stakes the earth, with her forests and mines, has been marked (21). On account of his partaking of the nature of a female Sudyumna did not obtain this (central region). According to the words of Vasishtha, the high-souled pious king Sudyumna was installed in the province of Pratishtāna.[1] O foremost of Kurus. Having obtained that kingdom the highly illustrious Sudyumna conferred it on Pururava and he himself reigned in Partishtana. Utkala had three sons celebrated in the three worlds Dhristaka, Amvarisha and Danda (22-24). Amongst them the noble Danda founded the most excellent Dandakāranya (the forest of Danda) celebrated in the world as the abode of the ascetics (25). As soon as a man enters there he is freed from sins. O descendant of Bharata, having begotten Aila, Sudyumna repaired to heaven (26), O monarch, that son of Manu, who was endowed with the characteristics of both a man and woman, and who took the name of Ilā, was celebrated by the name of Sudyumna (27). O descendant of Bharata, Shakas were the sons of Narishwanta, and Amvarisha, the foremost of kings, was the son of Nābhāga (28). Dhrishnu's son Dharshtaka and Ranadhrishta became known as Kshatra. And Karusha's sons were the Kshatrya Kārushas, dreadful in battle (29). In this way a thousand mighty powerful Kshatryas were born, O descendant of Bharata. The sons of Nābhāgarishtha, although Kshatryas (by birth), came by the status of Vaishyas (30). Prāngshu had one son celebrated by the name of Sharyati. Narishwanta's son was the powerful Danda. Saryāti had a twin son and daughter. The son was named Anartta and the daughter Sukanya became the wife of Chyavana. Anartta's successor was the highly effulgent Reva (31–32). His city Kusasthali was in the province of Anartta. Reva's son Raivata passed by the name of Kukudmi and was pious (32). Having obtained the kingdom of Kusasthali he became the father of a hundred sons. He, along with his daughter, received from Brahmā instructions in music. And O lord, many a Yuga passed away to him like a moment. He then, in his youthful state, returned to his own city filled with Yādavas (33–35). The city of Dwaravati, charming with many damsels, was protected by the descendants of Bhoja and Vrishni races headed by Vasudeva (36).

[1] Pratishtana or Prayāga is the modern Allahabad, the seat of the Government of N. W. P.

O slayer of foes, then informed of all these details Raivata conferred upon Baladeva that vow-observing maiden by name Revati (37). Having given away (his daughter) he repaired to the summit of the mount Sumeru for carrying on hard austerities. Rāma too lived happily in the company of Revati (38).

Previous | Source | Tamil Translation | Next



அக்ரூரன் அக்னி அங்கிரஸ் அசமஞ்சன் அதிதி அதிரதன் அநிருத்தன் அந்தகன் அரிஷ்டன் அருந்ததி அர்ஜுனன் அனு அஜபார்ஷன் அஜமீடன் அஸ்தி ஆபவர் ஆயு ஆரியா தேவி ஆஹுகன் இந்திரன் இளை உக்ரசேனன் உக்ராயுதன் உசீநரன் உதங்கர் உத்தவர் உபரிசரவசு உமை உல்பணன் உஷை ஊர்வசி ஊர்வர் ஏகலவ்யன் ஔர்வர் கக்ஷேயு கங்கை கசியபர் கண்டரீகர் கண்டாகர்ணன் கண்டூகன் கதன் கபிலர் கமலாதேவி கம்ஸன் கருடன் கர்க்கர் கர்ணன் காதி காந்திதேவி கார்த்தவீர்யார்ஜுனன் காலநேமி காலயவனன் காலவர் காளியன் கிருஷ்ணன் குசிகன் குணகன் குணவதி கும்பாண்டன் குரோஷ்டு குவலயாபீடம் குவலாஷ்வன் கூனி கைசிகன் கைடபன் கோடவி சகடாசுரன் சக்ரதேவன் சங்கன் சததன்வன் சத்யகர்ணன் சத்யகர்மன் சத்யபாமா சத்ருக்னன் சத்வதன் சந்தனு சந்திரவதி சந்திரன் சம்பரன் சரஸ்வதி சனத்குமாரர் சன்னதி சாணூரன் சாத்யகி சாந்தீபனி சாம்பன் சால்வன் சிசுபாலன் சித்திரலேகை சித்திராங்கதன் சிருகாலன் சிவன் சுக்ரன் சுசீமுகி சுநாபன் சுனீதன் சூரன் சூரியன் சைசிராயணர் சௌதி டிம்பகன் தக்ஷன் தசரதன் தந்தவக்ரன் தமகோஷன் தரதன் தன்வந்தரி தாரை திதி திதிக்ஷு திரிசங்கு திரிவிக்ரை திருமிலன் திரையாருணன் திலீபன் திவோதாஸன் துந்து துந்துமாரன் துருவன் துர்வாசர் துஷ்யந்தன் தூம்ரவர்ணன் தேவகன் தேவகி தேவாவ்ருதன் தேனுகன் நந்தன் நந்தி நரகாசுரன் நரசிம்மன் நஹுஷன் நாரதர் நாராயணன் நாராயணி நிகும்பன் நிசுந்தன் நித்ராதேவி நீபன் பஞ்சஜனன் பத்மாவதி பத்ரன் பப்ரு பயோதன் பரசுராமர் பரதன் பரத்வாஜர் பலராமன் பலி பாணன் பார்வதி பானு பானுமதி பிரதீபன் பிரத்யும்னன் பிரபாவதி பிரமர்த்தனன் பிரம்மதத்தன் பிரம்மன் பிரலம்பன் பிரவரன் பிரஸேனன் பிரஹலாதன் பிராசேதஸ் பிராப்தி பிருது பிருதை பிருஹதாஷ்வன் பிருஹஸ்பதி பீஷ்மகன் பீஷ்மர் புதன் புரூரவன் பூதனை பூமாதேவி பூரு பூஜனி பௌண்டரகன் மதிராதேவி மது மதுமதி மயன் மனு மஹாமாத்ரன் மாயாதேவி மாயாவதி மார்க்கண்டேயர் மித்ரஸஹர் முசுகுந்தன் முரு முருகன் முஷ்டிகன் யசோதை யது யயாதி யுதிஷ்டிரன் ரஜி ராமன் ருக்மவதி ருக்மி ருக்மிணி ரேவதி ரைவதன் ரோஹிணி லவணன் வசிஷ்டர் வராகம் வருணன் வஜ்ரநாபன் வஸு வஸுதேவன் வாமனன் வாயு விகத்ரு விசக்ரன் விதர்ப்பன் விப்ராஜன் விப்ருது வியாசர் விரஜை விருஷ்ணி விஷ்ணு விஷ்வாசி விஷ்வாமித்ரர் விஷ்வாவஸு விஸ்வகர்மன் வேனன் வைசம்பாயனர் வைவஸ்வத மனு ஜயந்தன் ஜராசந்தன் ஜனமேஜயன் ஜனார்த்தனன் ஜஹ்னு ஜாம்பவான் ஜியாமோகன் ஜ்வரம் ஸகரன் ஸத்யபாமா ஸத்யவிரதன் ஸத்ராஜித் ஸத்வான் ஸஹஸ்ரதன் ஸ்ரீதாமன் ஸ்ரீதேவ ஸ்வேதகர்ணன் ஹம்சன் ஹயக்ரீவன் ஹரி ஹரியஷ்வன் ஹரிஷ்சந்திரன் ஹிரண்யகசிபு ஹிரண்யாக்ஷன்